Paleoconservative Bible-thumping God-botherer Joel Osteen Still Hates The Gays

I wrote about Joel Osteen Hatin’ On The Gays for Addicting Info.

Joel Osteen is a homophobe.

David Edwards at Raw Story reports what may be the least surprising news of the day: Joel Osteen, infamous Paleoconservative Bible-thumping God-botherer,  appeared September 20th on CNN’s Starting Point, and told host Soledad O’Brien that homosexuality was still, like, totally a sin.

O’Brien expressed some skepticism that Osteen could claim to be “uplifting LGBT people” and making them feel that joy, joy, joy, joy down in their hearts while also telling them they are sinners.

Osteen clarified, “It seems like in Christianity, sometimes we categorize sin. I mean pride is a sin, being critical is a sin, being negative is a sin.”

O’Brien pointed out that pridefulness, being critical and being negative were all behaviors that a person could strive to change, thereby subtly pointing out that people do not choose to be born gay (or straight). “When you’re talking to your 45,000 people in your service and some of them are gay, you’re saying to them, ‘You’re a sinner,’” O’Brien pressed.

“That’s what I believe, that the scripture condemns it. It says it’s a sin, but it also says, you know, lying is and that being prideful is. […]  I know I have not chosen to be straight, I feel like that’s who I am,” Osteen admitted. “I don’t understand all those issues so, you know, I try to stick on the issues I do understand. I know this: I’m for everybody, I’m not for pushing people down. … I don’t know were the fine line is, but I do try to stay in my lane.”(source)

Read the rest of the article here.

Leave a Reply

